my cage
two blues
Sponsored Link
Support Our Friends
The Child Health Site
Topic Options
#431637 - 09/12/17 07:29 AM New Parakeets
Caralit Offline

On September 10th I recently got two new Parakeets/Budgies. I think they are both male, but anyway. So far they've just been sitting in the back of their cage on this one wooden perch. They haven't moved at all, except just moving along the perch.

Now I've been able to hand feed Gazer, my blue budgie, but Sprite, the green/yellow has barely eaten. I've place some food on the ground with water for them, and raised the other wooden perch from what I've read. I know it might take a few days for them to get used to this new home, but I'm nervous they might starve themselves. And the blue one still has stripes on his forehead, and the yellow/green doesn't exactly have any stripes but he's also young.

Do you guys have any tips? I'm also young so I've been doing my best to research and stuff. I love birds with a passion and this is my first time roasting birds. Anyway, thanks for paying attention <3

Add New Parakeets to Twitter Add New Parakeets to Facebook Add New Parakeets to MySpace Add New Parakeets to Del.icio.us Digg New Parakeets Add New Parakeets to Yahoo My Web Add New Parakeets to Google Bookmarks Add New Parakeets to Stumbleupon Add New Parakeets to Reddit
#431641 - 09/13/17 04:46 PM Re: New Parakeets [Re: Caralit]
Lisa Shea Online   content

True Blue Soulmate

Loc: US
Congratulations on the new parakeets!

I'm sure the keets are eating - you can't watch them 24 / 7 and they eat fairly quickly. I wouldn't worry about that. Just make sure they have seed and tasty millet for now as they settle in, and plenty of fresh water.

Take your time, work with them every day, and they'll settle in!