Wine Types

Málaga Wine Information

Magala Region Málaga began as a deep brown, rich, raisiny wine, created by the Greeks in 600 BC. It was originally called Xarabal Malaguii, "Málaga syrup", and was very sweet. It was created in the Andalucia region of Spain - the same region that Sherry originated in around the 1100s.

In 44 AD, Columela wrote about the fine wines available in the Roman Province of Málaga. Its popularity grew. During the 1500s, something had to be done to wine to allow it to last the long ocean journeys. Brandy was added to allow the wine to last longer, and to be more resistant to temperature changes. This is why Málaga is termed a "fortified wine".

Spain now produces 5.8 million gallons of Málaga a year. Practically this whole region is dedicated to the creation of these fine wines.

Málaga is mostly made with the pedro ximinez grape, along with some muscat of Alexandria. Málaga must actually be aged in the city of Málaga to earn the name. Málaga is regulated by the Consejo Regulator.

There are 16 main types of Málaga. Common ones are:
  • Lagrima - very sweet, free run (i.e. not pressed)
  • Moscatel - sweet, aromatic, using the muscatel grapes only
  • Pedro Ximinez - sweet, using the pedro ximinez grapes only
  • Solera - coming from a dated solera (see sherry for a description of solera)

These wines are very sweet and velvety, and differ slightly depending on the grape mixture used. Málaga wine is best served around at 20C.

Wine Types Main Listing