Travel Photos
Wine in Bermuda
Mouton Rothschild Bordeaux
Winery in Sicily
Sponsored Link
Topic Options
#358137 - 03/27/11 04:21 PM Madeira Vintage
Villager Offline

I am new to this site, and forum posting in general so please bear with me. I am also fairly new to the world of wine.

I obtained a bottle of Leacock Sercial Madeira yesturday at a Charity Chinese Auction for $10.00. I am told by the elderly gentleman (86 yrs. old) who donated it that his father bought it when he was a young man, so it is well over 50 years old. The bottle show its age but I can not find anything on the bottle stating the vintage age. Can anyone help?

Add Madeira Vintage to Twitter Add Madeira Vintage to Facebook Add Madeira Vintage to MySpace Add Madeira Vintage to Del.icio.us Digg Madeira Vintage Add Madeira Vintage to Yahoo My Web Add Madeira Vintage to Google Bookmarks Add Madeira Vintage to Stumbleupon Add Madeira Vintage to Reddit
#358139 - 03/27/11 11:48 PM Re: Madeira Vintage [Re: Villager]
Lisa Shea Online   content

Silver Star Soulmate

Loc: Massachusetts
Dear Villager -

Welcome! Here is my page on Madeira -

http://www.wineintro.com/types/madeira.html

Madeira isn't really a wine. It's a mixed drink. It's wine-plus-brandy. The way they make it is they have big vats and they use previous years' mixture to then add to the current year. So there isn't ever a vintage. It's a mix of all sorts of things. Usually what they'll state on a madeira bottle is its "minimum age" - that it has at least 5 years of aging on it. But because even that first year probably had some older previous-year mixture in it, it's usually older than that.

So they don't put "a year" on a bottle and that would just be the year the mixture happened to be bottled, not the age of the stuff IN the bottle.